NDP MHA wins Mental Health Leadership Award

NDP Mental Health & Addictions Critic Gerry Rogers

St. John’s Centre MHA Gerry Rogers, the NDP Mental Health critic won a prestigious award last night.

The Canadian Mental Health Association Newfoundland and Labrador handed out its annual awards last night in St. John’s. Rogers was the recipient of this year’s CMHA-NL Mental Health Leadership Award.

According to the organization, “This award honours a mental health service provider, researcher, or community leader for excellence in mental health leadership within Newfoundland and Labrador. Awardees must have shown dedication to furthering mental health within the province through his or her clinical practice, research, or community service.”

The NDP MHA has been an outspoken advocate for mental health. She introduced a private member’s motion calling for the creation of an all-party committee on Mental Health to the House of Assembly in January 2015. That committee consulted throughout the province and presented its report and recommendations earlier this year.

“This award is the culmination of the work of many. People with lived experience, family members, activists have all come together to push for a better mental health system that responds to the real needs of the people,” Rogers said.

“I am so honoured to be part of making that happen. Although the Report of the All-Party Committee is out, our work is not finished. We have raised hope and expectations and it is time now to deliver. Together let's do it!"

Other awards went to St. John’s City Councillor Sheilagh O’Leary, who won the Pottle award for Volunteerism, and Therese Kenny who won the Mental Health Scholarship Award.

Associated Caucus Members: 

Share this page: